Samsung Galaxy S3 Forum

General connect my S3 to PC via usb nothing happens

I connected my S3 to my PC via USB. It shows it is charging but the PC does not detect it. nothing happens.

I want to copy my pics off the phone to PC. Is there a setting on the phone I have to set and if so can someone please give me the path to set it..

I think maybe something like "Mass Storage Device" setting but I have looked in settings with no luck.

I just installed the premium suite update. I am on Verizon (SCH-I535)

Thanks

Related:

#1 Drunder40, Jun 1, 2013
Im not very good with PCs tbh but i think when you plug the phone in, you can pull down the notification panel and choose a mode. "Mass storage" doesnt exist now but theres some other mode that lets you move files.
Make sure you have s3 drivers installed on the pc btw :thumbup:

#2 funkylogik, Jun 1, 2013
Here is a link to the Samsung website to redownload the drivers if you need them:
Support - Verizon Wireless Cell Phones SCH-I535 | Samsung Cell Phones

I know that link is for the Verizon variant, but the drivers are the same. :)

And as funky stated, there is no "USB Mass Storage Mode", only PTP and MTP I believe, accessed, like he said, with the pulldown notification bar when the device is plugged in.

Also be sure you are using the OE cord and not plugged into a USB 3.0 port on the computer. Use the USB 2.0 port.

Perhaps try a different cord.

One more thing as a last resort, save what you need to save off of the sd card such as pix, videos etc, and save contacts to your google account , then factory reset.

If you factory reset, you will lose everything but alot of times a factory reset is recommended after a firmware upgrade to clean the device of any "ghost" data that make the device glitchy.

#3 Mikestony, Jun 1, 2013
Appreciate the replies but still no luck. I swapped the USB cord and no change.