Motorola Atrix 4G Forum

Why does Motoblur suck and how to get rid of it?

I have been seeing a lot of post,comments about how Motoblur is so crappy. What is motoblur and why is it so bad?? I just went from an LG Shine to my first smartphone, the Atrix of course. I really dont see what the big deal is. Is it because Im so new to this smartphone thing? Going from the Shine to the Atrix is like going from 8bit Nintendo to PS3 to me. I also keep hearing about "rooting" the Atrix. What improvements could there be from getting rid of motoblur?? Is it really that big of a deal? If there is a way to make this phone even better than it is already, im all ears! Im new to this whole thing so bare with my noobness. I work in the IT field so I think I could follow a well written guide on "rooting" the Atrix. Im just wondering if its really worth it, or should I just leave my phone as it is? I've already done the 2 updates that have been released, but I dont even get 4g where I live. Im sure eventually we will, but now all I get is Edge. The only time I get the H+ network is when I drive to work. I love my Atrix and plan on keeping it for a very long time. Any help or links would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Related:

#1 philharmonik, May 10, 2011
Motoblur is an UI that Motorola placed on top of the Android OS. Motorola added other softwares, applications and features that makes Motoblur more unique compared to Vanilla Android or the other OEM UI.

It really depends on you and if you like the look of motoblur, the widgets that get etc.

Motoblur also provides some services like tracking lost phone, locking it if stolen and mobile wipe.

People hate it because of the look and intrusiveness of the UI. If you're not using any of those apps/features, they are simply wasting space and using resource on your phone.

Here are some other threads you'd be interested in:
http://androidforums.com/motorola-atrix-4g/304334-why-do-people-hate-motoblur-so-much.html